Deutscher Dirigentenpreis

German Conductors' Award 2019

The German Conductors' Award takes place from 11nd through 18th October 2019 in Cologne.



Emotions – Top performance – Careers

German Conductors' Award (Deutscher Dirigentenpreis)
22nd through 29th September 2017
Cologne, Germany

In September 2017, the music world will again turn its eyes towards Cologne: The German Conductors’ Award will see its world debut from 22nd through 29th September 2017.

The German Conductors’ Award is an international competition for young conductors jointly organised in a partnership by the German Music Council (Deutscher Musikrat), the orchestras of Kölner Philharmonie, Oper Köln, Gürzenich-Orchester Köln and the WDR Sinfonieorchester.

There are many renowned competitions for young musicians, but only a handful of them focuses on conductors. An international competition for conductors that takes the genres of opera and concert equally into account and that thus tests the candidates’ cross-genre proficiency is unique.

The German Conductors’ Award will set standards with this unique feature; to be held every other year, it will serve as a stepping-stone for great careers. Agents, artistic directors and concert organisers will witness in the competition event and see to it that the awardees will be celebrated in future on the international stage.

By putting forth top-class young international conductors for the German music market, the German Conductors’ Award sustainably contributes to securing the quality of the German orchestra and theatre landscape, which was even awarded by the UNESCO Commission as an immaterial World Cultural Heritage.

The 2017 German Conductors’ Award receives support from the Freundeskreis Dirigentenforum e.V., the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media, the Federal State of North Rhine-Westphalia, the city of Cologne and the city of Bonn.

Die Preisträger des Deutschen Dirigentenpreises 2017

1. Preisträger: Hossein Pishkar, Iran
2. Preisträger: Dominik Beykirch, Deutschland
3. Preisträger: Anna Rakitina, Russland

Sonderpreis für die beste Interpretation eines Werkes des 20./21. Jahrhunderts:
Vladimir Yaskorski, Armenien

Dominik Beykirch (2. Preis), Anna Rakitina (3. Preis), Hossein Piskar (1. Preis) und Vladimir Yaskorski (Sonderpreis).
© WDR / Thomas Kost